Lend a helping hand and share some feedback

I have been posting my illustrations on Slack, Facebook and also sharing them with my peers in class to get some much needed feedback. As i have mentioned before i am redesigning the characters from Alice in wonderland (and you are probably sick of hearing about it)

We can begin this blog by talking about my first character, The Blue Caterpillar.
Screen Shot 2015-11-07 at 8.20.55 pm

I showed my art friends this picture and they said apart from it being blue, there isn’t much to define him as the character. They told me to quickly add the shisha pipe to illustrate who it is.

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 12.30.20 am

I agree with them. This picture still had alot of work until it was near done. I took this picture into class to present it and get class feedback from it. This is what my peers suggested.

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 9.03.52 pm

The one idea that i have implemented so far isnt on this feedback sheet. Jasmin suggested having a huge mouth instead of drawing a face. I loved this idea. This is the progress so far with the blue caterpillar.

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 8.00.51 pm

The character is coming together. I still want to add the spines and the fluro colouring to add to the drug effect i am wanting. I think i do need to work on the shadowing more as well.

My next character was the white knight. I modeled him off a chess piece and a knight (clearly). This is my first attempt.

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 9.09.13 pm

I sent this picture to toby and he replied that the fur needs texture to give the character depth. I liked this as the tail and hair looks very solid.

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 9.09.22 pm

Bit more depth is in this photo. I liked how this looked but i posted it on slack to see what else could be changed. Vanja was helpful and sent me this drawing to explain what i should fix.

Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 4.09.21 pm

I looked at her drawing and was mind blown at how great it looks. It really looks like a believable knight. I started again and implemented the ideas she had made. This is the final attempt (so far)

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 8.52.18 pm

The character looks more brute like and lean which has brought more to the character. I never used to like showing my work to people, but this has shown me what i can achieve with a helping hand from others. 😀

I have also been able to give some useful feedback to my peers on a number of projects. Two examples being for Lachlan’s digital painting and for Toby’s Animatic (CIU)

for Toby’s animatic he asked me to watch it and then give him my thoughts and feedback on the project. These are the suggested thoughts i had,

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 7.41.04 pm
Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 7.40.44 pm.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-08 at 7.41.26 pm.png

I think it helped. I also gave some feedback to Lachlan about his character

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 7.46.02 pm

Aside from these, i have participated in various class feedback sessions where we would go through everyone’s work and give constructive feedback.

Leave a Reply

