Value structures

During one of the digital painting classes we had a deep look into value structures. This class was very interesting to me as i had previously sturggled with shadowing and lighting. I would take a wild guess where the shadows and light source would be seen. This made my environments pretty bad. We worked on one in class and i enjoyed spending the time to deconstruct the scene and reassemble it with the shadows and lighting.

Here is a look at the value structure i attempted in class that day.
Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 10.33.02 am
This environment above is set at dusk, so i had the light source coming in 1 direction, leaving majority of the scene either grey or black. I started to paint this scene but left it as i wanted to get stuck into my concept drawings. Here is the partially coloured attemptScreen Shot 2015-12-18 at 11.56.04 am

along the background of this attempt you can see abit of atmosphere beginning. After this class i begun to understand the importance of a value structure. I did happen to apply this to my final digital envrionment.

Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 12.00.04 pm.png

This is very basic, but it did it’s job by helping me understand where the darker spots would be. Since i attempted a Film Noir vibe alot of the scene had to be dark. Here is how the final piece turned out.
Screen Shot 2015-12-16 at 12.04.58 am

I have since found a few tutorials and pages that will help me expand my knowledge and skills when it comes to value structures. Below are a few pages i found useful.

FloobyNooby link

Sketching with Values link

FENG ZHE tutorial

 

Leave a Reply

